Nobel Peace Prize: Past Winners.

In 2020, the World Food Program was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts to combat the increase in global hunger amid the coronavirus pandemic, which has spread across the globe with devastating effects.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed was awarded the prize in 2019 for his work to restart peace talks with neighboring Eritrea and restore independence to his country after decades of political and economic repression.

In 2018, Nadia Murad, a woman who was forced into sexual slavery by Islamic State, and Dr Denis Mukwege, a Congolese gynecological surgeon, who once called the country’s rape capital of the world I have treated thousands of women. .

The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, a coalition of Geneva-based disarmament activists behind the first treaty to ban nuclear weapons, was awarded the 2017 Peace Prize.

Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos won the 2016 peace prize with a left-wing rebel group for pursuing a deal to end a 52-year conflict, the longest-running war in the Americas, a shocking battle by Colombians. Five days after the agreement was rejected in the result of a referendum held in .

Leave a Comment